Jun Rekimoto : 暦本純一
6 min readNov 11, 2016

--

ニューラルネット化したらしいGoogle翻訳でThe Great Gatsby冒頭を試してみる:

原文:In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.
“Whenever you feel like criticizing any one,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”

google:私の若くて傷つきやすい年の頃、私の父は私が私の心の中でそれ以来変わってきたアドバイスを私にくれました。
「誰かを批判する気持ちがあるときはいつでも、彼は私に言いました。「この世界のすべての人々はあなたが持っていた優位性を持っていないことを覚えておいてください。

村上春樹訳:僕がまだ年若く、心に傷を負いやすかったころ、父親がひとつ忠告を与えてくれた。その言葉について僕は、ことあるごとに考えをめぐらせてきた。「誰かのことを批判したくなったときには、こう考えるようにするんだよ」と父は言った。「世間のすべての人が、お前のように恵まれた条件を与えられたわけではないのだと」

野崎孝訳:ぼくがまだ年若く、いまよりもっと傷つきやすい心を持っていた時分に、父がある忠告を与えてくれたけれど、爾来ぼくは、その忠告を、心の中でくりかえし反芻してきた。
「ひとを批判したいような気分が起きた場合にはだな」と、父は言うのである「この世の中の人がみんなおまえと同じように恵まれているわけではないということを、ちょっと思いだしてみるのだ」

むしろ村上訳のほうが読点を打ちすぎていたり、Just remember that…を「こう考えるようにするんだよ」としていたり、原文の稠密な感じが失われているとすら言えないだろうか?

vulnerable yearsの後に , を入れるとちょっと変化する:

In my younger and more vulnerable years, my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.

私の若い傷つきやすい年の頃、私の父は私の心の中で私が何度も転がってきたアドバイスを私にくれました。

日英:The Snow of Kilimanjaroの冒頭でやってみたらこうなった:

今度は日英。ヘミングウェイの「キリマンジャロの雪」冒頭:

入力(拙訳):キリマンジャロは雪に覆われた19,710フィートの山で、アフリカで最も高い山と言われている。 その西の頂上は、マサイ語で「Ngaje Ngai」、神の家と呼ばれている。 西の頂上近くに、ヒョウの乾燥し凍った死骸がある。 ヒョウがその標高で何を求めていたのか、誰も説明したことがない。

Kilimanjaro is a snow-covered mountain 19,710 feet high, and is said to be the highest mountain in Africa. Its western summit is called the Masai “Ngaje Ngai,” the House of God. Close to the western summit there is the dried and frozen carcass of a leopard. No one has explained what the leopard was seeking at that altitude.

Kilimanjaro is a mountain of 19,710 feet covered with snow and is said to be the highest mountain in Africa. The summit of the west is called “Ngaje Ngai” in Masai, the house of God. Near the top of the west there is a dry and frozen dead body of leopard. No one has ever explained what leopard wanted at that altitude.

はい、どちらが本物でしょう?上がgoogle,下がHemingwayの原文です。あえて直訳調の日本語にすると英語の精度があがるみたい。今後はこういうGoogle翻訳フレンドリーな日本語を書く(人間の)技能が発達するのかもしれない。

あ、下がgoogle,上がHemingwayでしたw よくみるとleopardの前の冠詞(a, the)が抜けてます。

ちなみにBing(Microsoft)の翻訳は:

Kilimanjaro said 19710-foot snow-covered mountain, Africa’s highest mountain. The West Summit is known as “Ngaje Ngai”, God’s House in Maasai language. Near the top of the West dry, leopards have a frozen corpse. Not that the Leopard had what you want at that elevation, who explained.

(追記)

本エントリーの内容についてThe New York Timesの記者より連絡があり、一部が掲載されました(!) https://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/14/magazine/the-great-ai-awakening.html

(追記2)

DeepLで「キリマンジャロの雪」冒頭を日英翻訳させると以下のようになりました。完璧ですが、これは有名な小説なので翻訳エンジンの学習データに使われている可能性もありますね:

Kilimanjaro is a snow-covered mountain of 19,710 feet and is considered the highest mountain in Africa. Its western peak is called “Ngaje Ngai” in Maasai language, the house of God. Near the western summit, there is the dried and frozen carcass of a leopard. No one has ever explained what the leopard was looking for at that altitude.

--

--

Jun Rekimoto : 暦本純一

人間とテクノロジーの未来を探求しています。Human Augmentation, Human-AI Integration, Prof.@ University of Tokyo, Sony CSL Fellow & SoyCSLKyoto Director, Ph.D. http://t.co/ZG8wEKTvkK